Life is getting on

And so am I.  Well, last I reported, I was learning C++ and looking for work.  Which was kinda combined really.  I’ve now actually got a job again and it does involve programming in C++.  The place I now work for is a smallish company called ASTC, which is where a good friend of mine works, Sergei, and he encouraged me to apply.  Good thing too as so far I’m really happy.

They (or should I say “we”) write software for engineering kinda places to emulate hardware components to test design ideas before they are built for real.  That’s the 10,000 foot view of it anyway.  Apparently the whole client side of it can be rather hush hush so I won’t mention any more of what goes on without getting written approval from my manager.  The actual job though is proving to be really good though.  I’m doing some serious work (or starting to anyway) and I’m working with some really nice people.  In fact, I don’t think there are any not nice people in the company.  I won’t say never, since that always works out badly in some comical way, but if there is a horrible person there, they are sure hiding well. The company seems very flexible in the way they approach work and hours.  The prevailing attitude seems to be that so long as you’re getting your work done and you’re not stopping anyone else getting theirs done, it’s all good.  That also means that I need to be flexible in terms of taking conference calls at odd hours with people in other countries, but that’s all good for me.

I’m also rather chuffed that I can use Linux as my development platform.  I’m running Linux in a virtual machine from Windows at the moment, but I’m hoping at some point soon to switch it over and run Linux native and Windows in the VM.  I’m also hoping to upgrade my Linux version to something a bit more recent, if my manager thinks that’s ok.

Speaking of Windows and Linux, in the last post I mentioned that I had accidently killed my Windows system and was going to stick with Mandriva for a bit.  Well, I did, then I got rid of it.  And no, I didn’t go back to Windows, I switched to Ubuntu.  I must say that it (version 8.04) is very slick.  I’m super happy with it and think I’ll just stick with it for everything.  If you’re thinking of trying out Linux, that’s the one I’d recommend at the moment.

Anyway, it’s getting on a bit and I really should get off to bed as … I need to get to work in the morning.  Been a long while since I’ve been saying that.  Hopefully this will mean getting back to regular posting as I may actually have more to talk about.  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

